Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

700R4 Troubling Pains

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 01:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 700R4 Troubling Pains

Hello guyz and Galz

I am having a problem with my 700R4.. I should start from the beginning to make sure I get my problem understood...

I am by no means a Mechanic or know how to work on cars..

I have have a 1989 Toyota pickup which had a 22RE 4 banger and an automatic trans.. Not going into what happened to it, I will tell you I replaced the engine and trans with a chevy 4.3 running a 700R4 behind it.

Now I did this engine and trans change about 7 yrs. ago and luv it.. I have more power and better gas mileage..

Now about 4 - 5 yrs ago I parked the truck and left it sitting in my backyard, and about 2 yrs. ago I changed the rearend with a V6 model and added more stock leaf springs to help the saggy rearend, which made me have to get the Driveshaft shortened, and in doing that, I of course lossed some trans fluid.

Another problem I had was the power steering pump started leaking real bad so I changed it with another I had sitting around. But as I was getting the power steering pump all worked out and getting the air out of the system I had the truck in park running, for about 10 - 15 mins at a time and about 4 times.

So brings me to the problem I am having now.. I got my truck out of the backyard and got it ready to use again, and when I took it for a test drive the truck would shift from 1 - 2 no problem - like it should, but when it shifts from 2 -3 it would act like I put it in neutral - Freewheel - .

Now when I changed the driveshaft I lost 2 quarts of ATF and didnt replace it, and when I got the power steering pump installed and ran the truck to remove the air from the system, I ran it without replacing the lost 2 quarts of ATF.

So is it possible I fried the 3 - 4 clutch pack just by running it 2 quarts low or do you think I have a sticking valve - servo - or bad switch ?