Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

help fading brakes on a 99 Z

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2013, 09:50 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help fading brakes on a 99 Z

Hey guys and gals newbie here hello to all.
I've got a problem with my brakes , the best way I can describe it is like driving a four wheel drum brake car down a hill they fade without even getting on them hard as for panic stops fugettaboutit. It's a four channel tcs car. I've replaced all rotors and pads with gm parts ceramic pads. No matter how hard I push on the brake pedal it does not want to stop I can't lock the brakes or trigger the abs on dry pavement but I can trigger the abs on loose ground.the pedal feels normal and does not sink. The car is parked and covered until I can figure something out I don't want to crash my baby. I'm stumped?
Old 03-19-2013, 12:34 AM
On The Tree

Maybe air in your brake lines? Sounds like that to me.

Try bleeding your brakes and put some good new fluid in there while your at it.
Old 03-19-2013, 12:42 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Sounds like you are used to better brakes...these cars have dangerously underpowered brakes on them from the factory. It is sad really.

I would do an upgrade if it is that noticeable to you. That is on my list of to do's
Old 03-19-2013, 01:34 AM
Teching In

Thanks guys I'll try to bleed the brakes. An upgrade is food for thought but that'll be down the road.
I just can't understand how my 29 year old b body wagon can stop on a dime and my 99 camaro feels at least to me anyway like an old car with four wheel drum brakes. I have a 78 Z28 and the braking feel is much better it should be the opposite.
I'll bleed the brakes and see what happens?
Thanks again
Old 03-19-2013, 02:45 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 215 Likes on 176 Posts

bingo....ceramic pads............try some hawk HPS !!!!
Old 03-19-2013, 05:25 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by LOHRTBT