Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Stock SS Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2013, 10:25 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock SS Suspension

Hey guys I just bought a stock SS. I'm a newbie at this. Car is terrible in the corners and has a lot of wheel hop. I know I didn't buy a BMW but, I was hoping to improve the handling. It is my daily driver so I don't want the suspension to be too stiff. This is what I'm thinking of getting. Any input.. much appreciated...

Koni Sport Adjustables
UMI LCA's & Adjustable Panhard Bar
UMI LCA Relocation Brackets
UMI Subframe Connectors.

I like the stock ride height. Do you guys think I should change the springs at the same time.Thanks
Old 03-22-2013, 11:50 AM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

that looks like a good set-up. Don't forget a good torque arm too.
Old 03-22-2013, 12:23 PM
TECH Junkie

In my opinion I would start with just shocks. That could be enough to prevent the wheel hop as it is. Try it... if you get wheel hop, you can always go to the next step.

You mentioned handling, hence why I recommend just shocks first. You are going to want them anyway, and they could improve your wheel hop as it is.

The other things have their pros and cons.

Subframe connectors.. I'm not sure exactly how much they prevent chassis flex. I have no comment on that.. but they make awesome jack points under the car. They also can't hurt aside from adding a little more weight and bumping you up a class if you autox
Old 03-22-2013, 02:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

How many miles do you have on the car?

I thought the same when I bought my SS. An upgrade to a high quality shock (Konis would be a GREAT choice) will make a noticeable difference. The LCAs will also help with the wheel hop.

You'll hear mixed reviews on the SFC's, however I thought mine were definitely a worthwhile mod....one of the first I made to the car.