Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

02 ss first mod questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 03:31 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 ss first mod questions

Here is my first mod I am going to do to my 02 SS. I want to bypass the factory cats but I am confused what brand do I use? I am new to the F bodies so your help will be appreciated!

I want a brand that you guys will know of so that is what I will buy. I want something that will bolt in without any modifications. Also is there a y pipe that has to o2 bung welded on? I heard or 02 simulators.

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2013, 04:14 AM
10 Second Club

Im not sure of a brand for a cat seeing as we dont have inspections here in OK and when I did my headers i just went into 3" exhaust. But you can have the car tuned and have your rear O2s turned off so you dont have to waste money on the simulators. I would go that route and get 2 birds one stone.
Old 03-27-2013, 04:19 AM
Teching In

Here we have inspections but my friend does it anyways so that is not a concern and they usually don't check for emissions in Hawaii.

If I were to get off road y pipes it does not have the o2 bung welded into the pipe? Can you use a hand held tuner to delete the rear o2 sensors? So if the cat is gone you don't need the o2 sensors in?

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2013, 04:37 AM
Teching In

Here we have inspections but my friend does it anyways so that is not a concern and they usually don't check for emissions in Hawaii.

If I were to get off road y pipes it does not have the o2 bung welded into the pipe? Can you use a hand held tuner to delete the rear o2 sensors? So if the cat is gone you don't need the o2 sensors in?

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2013, 03:10 PM
10 Second Club