New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time taking apart an engine, need tips.

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2013, 08:55 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time taking apart an engine, need tips.

As the title states, this is my first time taking apart my LS1 engine. I am finally out of the military and have more time than I know what to do with ( new job doesn't start till may 13th ). Right now I am practicing the process of labeling bags of bolts and keeping separated, also used colored markers on the header bolts and the block to make sure they go back into the same place. I am currently at removing the header from the head.. Got it unbolted but realizing it doesn't come out through the top or bottom.. So I'm leaning towards removing the steering u-joint thing ( not well versed on all the terms still ) as it is only 2 bolts to disconnect. Is there any precautions I should note? And any tip on things I should do while my engine is completely taken apart. IE free mods I should do ect. I am planning on installing an oil catch as my ait intake, heads are TARED up horribly ( which is prolly why I was getting 18mpg on the highway non aggressive driving. )
Old 04-11-2013, 10:24 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Are you pulling the motor out and taking it down to a bare block ? Or pulling the top end and leaving the short block in the car?

As far as tips, take a bunch of pics every step of the way so you can go back to them during reassembly. Bag and label every thing as you said. Take your time and don't try to set any speed records.

The headers will come out the bottom, you have to get the car high and push the collector up and let the flange end drop. Moving the steering shaft will help. I would get in the car and make sure the steering wheel is straight and locked before you remove the linkage shaft.
Old 04-11-2013, 10:42 PM
Staging Lane