Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help out the new LS guy!

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 12:08 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Arrow Help out the new LS guy!

Hey guys well im new to the ls world (mustang guy for 15 years) but I have been shown the "light" by a fellow friend and tuner Dennis @ Redline Performance. Anyways after looking for quite a bit I found a 99 Pewter Trans am locally... I got a super deal on it but the car needs some minor tlc on the interior (leather seats shot) and 3rd gear in the tranny (A4) is out. I just picked up OEM 20k rebuilt 4l60e with an almost brand new Yank ss4000 stall. I have a brand new NX nitrous kit that I plan on spraying 150 eventually as well. Basically I would be more than happy with a 11sec maybe high 10sec street car. I defiantly plan on putting the car on a diet but im keeping the AC since its scorching hot in the FL sun lol. Any tips on the bolt on's I should do and don't? any help would be appreciated! thanks guys!

Also what is the most preffered shift kit and tranny cooler since ill be doing these mods first. I also plan on doing long tubes and ory while im doing the tranny. Anyone have any feedback on the speed engineering stuff? I see the price of the ebay stuff is tempting but is the quality questionable????

YES I HAVE SEARCHED, but I can only make my own assumptions on what to do and not do so much. I would like personal feedback if possible. Thanks
Old 05-15-2013, 01:20 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

For the 99 I would start out with a LS6 intake swap or a fast 92 if you have the $$$. Go with some 1-7/8 long tube headers and cat back. Kook's headers get my vote but they are expencive. Also look in to a lid and fast toy "ram air"

Welcome to the dark side BTW...
Old 05-15-2013, 02:38 PM
Launching!

Thanks man the actually has a slp lid on it with a K&N filter. Its the only aftermarket part on the car right now. do I need to do an uprgraded throttle body with the fast intake?>