Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

402 LS2 Build

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 03:12 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 402 LS2 Build

I spun a rod bearing in my LS2 a couple of years ago and after ages of getting parts together, I've finally got most everything I need to get the motor put back together. Oh, and I decided to stroke it out and add some displacement while I'm at it.

This is my first engine rebuild, so it's going to take some time for me to complete it as I plan on taking my time so I don't screw anything up. That's not to say there haven't been growing pains already. Since I'm a newbie at this, I welcome any and all criticisms and and guidance you might provide.

Upgraded Parts List:
Callies Compstar 4.00" Stroke Crankshaft
Callies Compstar 6.125" Connecting Rods
Wiseco 4.005" -10cc dish pistons
TSP Long Tube Headers and Y-Pipe with Stainless Magnaflow Exhaust
LSXr FAST 102 intake manifold
Also have a new oil pump and timing chain to prevent future spun bearings.

Specs of the car as it was:
Tick Performance Polluter Cam
Monster Stage 3 Clutch
TR-6060 internals in the T-56
4:10 gears
The rest of the motor was stock.

Planning on making at least 500 rwhp N/A when it's back together.

It begins!
402 LS2 Build-zz2gmvdl.jpg
Got the motor and rotating assembly back from the shop. Just took this picture because I was too excited to contain myself.

Engine stand assembled
402 LS2 Build-ovqiaiel.jpg
Got the engine stand together after taking forever to find the right mounting bolts for it. Please excuse the mess... I cleaned my garage shortly after this picture was taken.

Had my local machine shop do a valve job on my heads. They did a fantastic job.
402 LS2 Build-jrnbg1zl.jpg

Took me a while to figure out how to get the connecting rod caps off of the rods.
402 LS2 Build-bmrl7lql.jpg