Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Carb + stock ECM?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2013, 05:38 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb + stock ECM?

I know some here are using their ECM just for ignition. What all are you doing as far as the tune to keep the ECM from going crazy? Just disabling the codes? I'm using HPTuners ...
Old 07-03-2013, 02:34 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Why not just put in a msd box?
Old 07-03-2013, 02:40 PM
Launching!

Because I have the ECM in place, wired, and running already and its perfectly capable of controlling the ignition. I know people have done it on this forum in the past ...
Old 07-03-2013, 04:04 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Not worth the headache in my opinion...just MSD 6010 and go...unless your a tuner, which telling by ur question I'm guessing not...
Old 07-03-2013, 04:15 PM
Launching!

I have HP Tuners and have looked into it. I'm no pro tuner yet but I know my way around it a little. It seems easier than it should be, hence my reason for asking. You must be a tuner since it is so obvious to you that I am not and you are so certain that it is not worth the headache. Can you explain it to me?

For instance, what does the computer do when it tries to adjust fuel trims and nothing happens? It throws a code. So is disabling that code all that is necessary or do I zero out the fuel tables somehow?
Old 07-03-2013, 04:22 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm def no tuner and meant no disrespect just stating how easy the MSD setup is, and for the price of it you could sell the stock PCM to recoup some or all of the money, just giving my opinion, but to each his own...
Old 07-03-2013, 04:33 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by wildcamaro