Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Looking for a shorter plug than a TR6

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 12:34 PM
10 Second Club

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Looking for a shorter plug than a TR6

Ok I have been fighting this situation back and forth now for far too long now and need to get this resolved so if anyone has any ideas PLEASE help me out.

Back story is I bought a twin turbo car from here about 4 months ago that was in the final stages of everything. Everything runs fine except it has a slight over heating issue at idle, because of cheap fans I believe, and it keeps burning plug boots which is what I am trying to get past so I can move on to other things.

Anyway I have been having someone help me with all of this as I am not really a mechanic and he used to own a shop working on LS cars so I trust his ability but it keeps burning boots 1-3-5-6, the others are ok. He has suggested we try the Accel ceramic plug boots but the end of the plug is so close to the manifold it won't allow it to fit on to it which brings me to the question of is there a shorter plug that I can run to give the boots enough room? I have read that some of the Autolites are shorter but which ones and by how much? We only need a few milimeters to fit the plug boots on.
Old 07-09-2013, 01:27 PM
10 Second Club

The plugs I have are TR6s which are a .708 reach and tapered and I have found some tapered ones around the .460 reach range but none around the .750 range. Will a .460 reach work?
Old 07-09-2013, 02:27 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

No. The reach you describe is how far it goes in the threads of the head. with that short of a plug you will almost be a 1/4 inch short going into the head.