Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Replacing stock speakers on an '01 Z28 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2013, 02:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing stock speakers on an '01 Z28 Camaro

Hey guys, I'm not too experienced in the way speakers work and I was wondering what the cheapest way to replace 2 of my stock speakers in my Z28 is.

Basically, one of the speakers in the front blew so I want to replace both front speakers. But I don't know squat about ohms and resistance and voltage...I looked at the help articles and they're too confusing

I have a pair of brand new Pioneer speakers from a friend who bought them for her base firebird, and got them to work great on that car, but she's giving the speakers to me 'cause she's selling the firebird.

So basically my question is, can these speakers work on my Z28 if they fit on her firebird? are they a good choice or is there a better option to fixing my sound? Thank you all for you time,

Cheers.
Old 07-22-2013, 09:19 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Assuming you have a stock monsoon system. The front two door speakers are 6.5"Shallow mount 2-ohm midranges with .75" 4-ohm tweeters mounted coaxially. Read the MONSOON FAQ STICKY, everything you need to know is in the sticky. Honestly if you wan't to have an easier install without having to cut/splice/solder and heat shrink your factory wires with limited space, sell the pioneers and get with Ian at KEE AUDIO a sponsor here and he will set you straight with some speakers that are plug and play. Also get rid of your stock head unit if you haven't already it's a distortion producing monster and will only strain your new speaker's and possibly blow them again at high volume levels.

Last edited by TX98Z28; 07-22-2013 at 09:52 PM.
Old 07-25-2013, 06:00 PM
On The Tree