Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

How-to: Fill spoiler/body holes in sheetmetal.

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2013, 10:34 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How-to: Fill spoiler/body holes in sheetmetal.

Hey guys! I wasn't sure where to put this... but I hope this is an okay spot. I removed a spoiler from the car I'm doing an LS swap in when I was taking a welding class and took lots of pictures with the intention to help people get an idea on how to fill in spoiler and body holes. It won't do much good for you guys with fiberglass bodies, but any steel could use this treatment. I'm not certain if this is 100% the "right way" to do this, but this is what worked awesome for me.

First up... if you think this is gonna be a 1-evening thing, I'm laughing at you right now (or you are THE MAN, then I salute you). What's included here (for me, and I'm a slow noob, but still) was about 20-ish hours.

Here's the 'ole s13 coupe trunk with the OEM spoiler removed. This is gonna take a bit.

First up... get out a sander (pick your poison on what kind) and get something aggressive enough to start removing paint and 20 years worth of dirt and whatever else out of your way.

Next, grab a stud welder.

No... not that kind... this kind.

And some sheet metal. This is 1/16 or 1/8th gauge. Thin, but not too thin. Your goal is to match the sheetmetal to the thickness of the metal around the hole you want to fill. I measured the width of each hole, and marked that out on my metal in marker to give me a good idea of how thick I wanted the cuts.

Next... cut the small strips and then grab that stud welder and tack that *****'! Watch out... these will be warm for a bit...

Our main goal is to get the strips to just barely slide into the holes and cover as much as possible.