LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

My 383 rwhp estimate?

Old 09-11-2013, 08:41 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default My 383 rwhp estimate?

Im currently putting my engine back together. Im really excited to know my hp before I take it to the dyno shop. Here are my list of mods: Pacesetter LT's, 3" exhaust, CC280XFI, TFS195cc ported heads, cc1.6 rr, beehive valve springs, bored .030 over, scat forged crank, scat 6" H-beam rods, mahle dished -16cc pistons. Obviously this is before a tune. I tried to get quality parts (even though I know I should have went with AFR heads! )and taking you guys in this forums advice. Let me know in your honest opinion what would you have done differently to squeeze out more hp? IM not an expert but I think I did adequate enough research! Thanks for your input!
Old 09-11-2013, 08:57 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The low compression heads are going to kill your horsepower. Why did you choose the parts you did? With a .028" head gasket and .020" in the hole your compression is down around 9.5:1. That is HORRID for N/A, unless you are planning boost?

I would have gone with a flat top piston, reputable mail-order tune, reputable ported stock castings by AI and a custom grind cam. Assuming a good tune you could reasonably expect 420+whp (my combo puts down 450+whp and uses those parts). In current trim though I would guess you'd be somewhere around the 340-360whp range.
Old 09-11-2013, 09:19 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by RamAir95TA
The low compression heads are going to kill your horsepower. Why did you choose the parts you did? With a .028" head gasket and .020" in the hole your compression is down around 9.5:1. That is HORRID for N/A, unless you are planning boost?