Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pacesetter LT Install

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2013, 10:15 AM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pacesetter LT Install

I am about to attempt putting on my LT headers and ORY. I am new at working on these cars. I have read through the write ups on here, and other places as well. Everyone seems to have different strategies, things they do differently and what not.

Any final tips to help me get these off and back on without tearing the entire engine bay apart? I'll also be doing motor mounts, going with the prothane mounts.

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-10-2013, 10:21 AM
It's not mine! woo hoo!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I don't think anyone can offer any more than what you may have read. Like you noticed, there are different approaches that people take to end up the same in the end. For example, I found it easier to remove the steering shaft rather than the oil filter -- but that's just how I did it.

The only thing I can really tell you is that using the factory scissor jack makes the motor mounts a LOT easier -- so definitely follow that advice.
Old 10-10-2013, 12:45 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you have access to a lift...your life will be 1000x easier. Otherwise, good luck. Its tight under there.
Old 10-10-2013, 03:59 PM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I've installed many sets in my driveway on jackstands. Its not really advice, but there are a few different things you may find yourself doing to get them in. As stated before removing the steering arm and oil filter may help, but also taking the motor mounts loose and moving the motor side to side can help. For some sets I've even had to lower the tranny tailshaft to gain more room in the for the header to slide in. Some are easier from the top and some from the bottom.