Any body a mudlogger in the oilfield?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2013, 09:05 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any body a mudlogger in the oilfield?

I have been looking at getting out of the plant and doing something different. I have an interview with a mudlogging company. Is any here a mudlogger? What is the pay starting at? Something that can can be caught on quickly if ur a fast learner? Etc,etc..
Old 11-10-2013, 09:28 PM
Launching!

Never worked as a mud logger but I worked with a bunch of them in my 13 years offshore. Depending on what your used to pay isn't going to be great. Job is pretty easy. I would try to get on with a drilling company. There is more room for growth in drilling. I would check out Diamond, Noble, Transocean, Seadrill, Atwood, Rowan or another big company like that. Another option would be to try to get a job on a production platform.
Old 11-10-2013, 09:33 PM
Teching In

I am a process operator right now. but my job is outside lol...so im used to working.

It hard to get a decent job without having somebody on the inside in the oilfield.
Old 11-11-2013, 12:29 AM
Teching In

OP: Check out this company - http://www.noblecorp.com/ I worked for them as an electrician and then a mud logger for another company. Now I am a Pipeline Controller and love my job even more. Working offshore can be fun and the pay is very good. A mud logger on on shore has a lot more travel, IMO, for off shore you just fly to the rig. Good Luck!
Old 11-12-2013, 05:52 AM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

You start off as a sample catcher, the bigger ones like Halliburton seem to have better opportunity for advancement. I imagine it would be a sizeable pay cut from where you're at now. For that I would strongly second looking at a drilling contractor, in deep water they have room for rapid advancement right now.
Old 11-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Teching In

^^^^^ I agree, check out http://www.rigzone.com/
Old 11-12-2013, 04:26 PM
TECH Regular