Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

FI noob has some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2014, 08:20 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FI noob has some questions.

I'm no stranger to turbos on heavy trucks and equipment but I'm pretty new to the FI FBody cars. I really had my heart set on a procharger but I'm starting to think a turbo is a good way to go. I do metal fabrication for a living and could build most of my piping. I really liked the look of the APS kit but it's no longer available from what I could see.

Here is my goal and you guys tell me the best path.....

I want a daily driver car, full A/C, PS, all the goodies. Idle in traffic, I want cake and eat it too....

I'm in the market for 600-650 hp

I absolutely don't want to chop the car up and don't want to cut the front bumper for a big front mount inter cooler. (It's a Firehawk and I want bolt on builds.)

My car also has full headers and exhaust so a turbo kit will mean all that money is pretty lost but I could resell those parts, car also has a 224/224 581/588 114lsa cam, I have around a 7500 budget for the system I choose but that's not set in stone.

Thanks guys.
Old 01-17-2014, 08:36 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You could do the rear mount kit...keep your headers too
Old 01-17-2014, 09:01 PM
On The Tree

Can I pull 600 ponies from a rear mount? That would be an easy fab for me.
Old 01-18-2014, 10:59 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Yes you can pull that much from a rear mount. Im not a fan of them, but they work.

Selling the headers and buying truck manifolds would actually mean more money in your pocket as opposed to running with the headers.