Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

65 Nova II - Basic LQ4+S480 build

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2014, 03:24 PM
8 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default 65 Nova II - Basic LQ4+S480 build

I am far enough along that I would like to share what I am building with you guys. This is my first build doing 100% of the fabrication on my own and boy have I progressed along the way. Still a lot to learn for certain. Not my first turbo LS build though so atleast I had some lessons learned.

Cliffs:
1965 Nova II
Mini Tubbed w/ Ford 9"
6.0L LQ4, Studs, TU 1.5 Cam, LS6 mani
S480
Glide w/brake and Yank 3400 converter

Sorry for so many pics and info but im late to the party on starting a thread.

Here it is

This went under the knife 8/3. Long way to go.

Good friend of mine lets me use his giant powder coating over

Gross.

Less gross.

Motor time

TCI Front clip

Fab materials, new welder and motor in!

Old 01-18-2014, 03:58 PM
8 Second Club

Continued

Rear end all together. Studs, rebuild, new gear, bearings, disc conversion etc etc

Yeah lets put a turbo there

Downpipe

All tacked together.

welded

Old 01-18-2014, 04:07 PM
SSZ
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Nice Nice!
Old 01-18-2014, 04:11 PM
8 Second Club

Crossover and rad bracket. Wastegates mounted on other side. One has ok priority and the other not so great. Tial 38s. Hopefully has ok control.

Nice lil bay shot

Started making the exhaust from the downpipe

Welded!

More exhaust

Starting to weld up the muffler section after I was happy with the fit.

As I keep practicing I have gotten more comfortable with filler rod as opposed o some earlier fusion type welds.

Old 01-18-2014, 04:12 PM
8 Second Club

That is the last of it. I have mounted the fuel cell, installed bulkheads and just need to make some final lines. Next up is interior, wiring, and lots of loose ends.

I hope to have it out this season! April?
Old 01-18-2014, 04:33 PM
Staging Lane

Nice Job!