LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Stock heads and intake

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2014, 09:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Stock heads and intake

Can someone please give me some info on the stock 96 lt1 heads?
Good or bad?
Porting and polishing??
Also give me the same info on the intake manifold??
Throttle body?? Better to change it out for a little bigger? 58mm??

Thanks in advance

Sorry for all the posts but i am just getting started on this project and i am trying to learn as much as possible before i make any set in stone plans. Better to do it once than have to put money into something that isnt worth it.
Old 01-19-2014, 10:09 AM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

The 571 casting which you might have is generally frowned on forserious professional porting due to being thin. You will need to pull a valvecover and check. If you are saying "port an polish" though it sounds like maybe you or a friend decades out of touch is going to be doing the work and you could give it a shot since you probably wont be drastically reshaping. "port and polish" is 70s vocabulary, polishing is pretty much not done, maybe if someone wants to put the time into the exhaust side but these days most of us who want high end work just choose a good CNC porting shop and leave it at that.

Far as the intake there isn't a lot to be had in porting it but is a decent idea to have THE HEAD PORTER port it at the same time you have the heads done. I would expect your car to likely have the 138 casting intake which has smaller ports that more closely match the heads as cast than the earlier intakes which actually had larger ports than the heads. That doesn't matter atall for porting.