Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Supercharger Newb

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2014, 09:05 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Supercharger Newb

I'm new to the forced induction world and need help. I recently acquired a D1SC with twin intercoolers for my ’99 Trans Am. I want to run this system safely. My car will never see a racetrack, nor will it be raced. I enjoy driving it and having power as well.

The motor is a LS1 stroked out to a 392. I have the LS6 intake, forged bottom, LS6 Patriot heads (64 cc), LS7 lifters, roller rockers, long tubes, 64 lb injectors, 11 to 1 compression. The cam is 238/310 @ 50 110 lobe separation and .604 lift.

The suspension is great, have everything in the aftermarket installed, lowered, and stiffened. The rear end is so/so and still in the works. I have a newly installed (last week) Spec stage 2 clutch assembly, flywheel, improved slave cylinder, and Tick Performance master cylinder. Also have upgraded fuel pump as well.

Is this set up going to be ok as is, or are new parts in my future? I am already making around 500 hp. I’m not looking to make super high numbers. Just don’t want to blow up my motor.

Last edited by ccso503; 02-08-2014 at 09:49 PM.
Old 02-08-2014, 11:45 PM
TECH Regular

That's a lot of C/R for pump fuel and boost. Unless you roll around with c16 in the tank or on methanol. What pulley set up are you planning on running? That D1 will be a tad on the small side for that size of an engine with that cam. That LSA isn't the most friendly for a blower either. Probably going to run out of injector too before you start making much more power with the charger.

I would make absolutely sure my tuner knew exactly what he was doing when I took him this set up. The tuning would probably be my most worry in this particular scenario.

What fuel pump are you running exactly?
Old 02-09-2014, 01:20 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by BTLBABY