Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

4.10 Install Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2014, 10:23 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Default 4.10 Install Question

Hey guys! Noob here, about to tackle my 4.10 install and had a few questions.

1) I'm just using a jack and jackstands. I've seen videos of people removing/tightening the pinion nut using 3 foot breaker bars and crazy things like that. They all used lifts, though, so a 3 foot or 5 foot pipe might be feasible. Any tips for doing this while just using jackstands?

2) I've been reading writeups talking about checking pinion depth without using the crush sleeve until you've got the measurements right. I don't get how this crush sleeve works. If you don't use it for your test, how is this measurement accurate? What does crushing the sleeve do?
Old 04-30-2014, 10:47 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hey man
A+ For effort
And working on your own stuff ....
If you have never done a rear end before ....
This might not be the greatest platform to start with ....
Maybe tackle a few trucks before a f-body ....
One wrong move and you will be reminded of the gear swap every time you drive it ....
A little rear end whine is magnified in a f-body due to the lack of a trunk ... And it seems the sound is almost absorbed by the hatch and then megaphones towards the front seats ....
...just my 2$ ...
Trucks are a little more forgiving if the diff is noises ... Because all the sound stays outside the vehicle ....
Any other opinions are welcomed
Old 05-01-2014, 06:05 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 129 Likes on 114 Posts

Pinion depth is determined by the large inner tapered roller bearing and the shim underneath it between the bearing and the pinion. The crush sleeve doesn't affect that.