LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

What is the best way to change the head gaskets?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2014, 04:39 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 78 Likes on 57 Posts

Default What is the best way to change the head gaskets?

Hey guys, just picked up a 97 Formula and the head gaskets are blown. What do yall think is the best way to do them? Drop the motor out of the bottom, or try to do it in the car? I'm a very experienced mechanic, but I have never done this job on an LT1 4th gen. I did it on a 3.8L 4th gen and it was a freaking nightmare with the engine still in the car.
Old 05-21-2014, 05:09 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

That depends on what you consider harder, pulling the engine or dealing with the firewall while bending over for long periods of time.

If you have the means to drop the engine out the bottom then personally, I'd do the heads out of the engine bay. If not do it with them installed. JMHO.
Old 05-21-2014, 05:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The best way is drop the motor and put in a cam and thinner head gaskets and make some more POWAH.
Old 05-21-2014, 05:10 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Heads are not too bad to pull in car. But me being OCD, I would pull it and at least regasket the whole motor and clean it up.
Old 05-21-2014, 06:11 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by hrcslam
That depends on what you consider harder, pulling the engine or dealing with the firewall while bending over for long periods of time.

If you have the means to drop the engine out the bottom then personally, I'd do the heads out of the engine bay. If not do it with them installed. JMHO.
I definitely have the means to drop the motor and it's probably the way I'm going to go.

Originally Posted by nitrous2fast
The best way is drop the motor and put in a cam and thinner head gaskets and make some more POWAH.