General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Telling if water pump is failing?

Old 06-17-2014, 12:39 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Telling if water pump is failing?

Excuse my ignorance... I'm no mechanic!

I've been hearing some whine in the engine compartment, but only when the revs are in the higher ranges.

My initial thought is power steering pump (it seems most pronounced when the revs are up and I'm taking a corner), but now I'm wondering if maybe it's a water pump issue? It doesn't whine at a standstill, and the steering doesn't feel heavy...

Besides leaking coolant, what would indicate a water pump issue? My car's thermometer seems to sit pretty at 210, but I want to rule everything out before I attempt to swap out the steering pump.
Old 06-17-2014, 05:52 PM
TECH Addict

If the water pump goes bad, it's normally the seal that fails first, not the bearing. When the seal fail, the pump starts peeing coolant out of a small hole in the bottom of the pump housing solely for the purpose of alerting you to the fact that the seal has failed. With an LT1, this peeing goes all over the distributor, killing it.

Your clue here is the noise while making a turn. When was the last time you checked the oil level in your PS pump?
Old 06-17-2014, 06:14 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Yea...the water pumps don't stop pumping water, they are mechanical. But they spring leaks when the seal goes.....((You could be the one in a million who actually shear a water pump shaft....but then you would overheat right into the read on the temp gauge in 15 minutes, every time.))