General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

2000 SS Window clunking and binding

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2014, 07:37 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 2000 SS Window clunking and binding

All,

I have done a lot of searching but I can't quite find the info I need and I'm a bit of a noob to the windows in these cars as my 99 T/A has never had an issue.

I picked up a 2000 SS a couple days ago on a steal ($3500 with 74K on it) and I have an issue with the window. It binds and clunks when going up and down. It actually binds so bad that it won't move at all and I have to assist it by pulling or pushing. It appears that the window motor has been replaced by all of the holes drilled in the door but I'm not sure if anything else has been done beyond that.

When the window binds, I see a good bit of flex in the door about 7 or 8 O'Clock to where the window motor is. I'm guessing that flex is causing the teeth to bind? I can see a little scarring to the toothed wheel that contacts the motor but nothing crazy. I was going to attempt to find a mirror or something to look in there and try to see if I could spot an issue but I ran out of daylight.

Any input on this? I'm a bit lost as I just figured it was the window popping off track or something but it appears it's a bit more involved than that.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Josh
Old 10-02-2014, 05:10 PM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts

Usually, this is caused by the installation of the new motor. The first thing would be to check for loose nuts and bolts securing the motor to the regulator.

The regulator gear rack and the gear on the motor are bomb-proof. But, if the motor comes loose, they won't mesh right and can bind or not engage each other.