Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need TH400 Help...

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2015, 02:23 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need TH400 Help...

I have a Stage II RMVB w/Transbrake TH400 built by Jake's Performance. It was perfect until I rolled a sprag... That was my fault. I replaced the sprag and got it all back together.

Now my issue is: When the trans fluid gets to operating temp, the reverse doesn't want to hold on the brake and when just trying to reverse normally it slips. All the forward gears including third work great! I really need to get this brake working again because I'm going turbo and I need this brake!!!

The transmission is out of the car. So I can't put a pressure gauge on it, and honestly I don't even know what the hell that does. I know I have a problem with reverse, so how will seeing it has low pressure help? lol

Bare with me as I am by no means a transmission expert. I don't have too many diagrams to go off of either.

I have an aluminum separator plate and the one and only check ball is installed above the spring.

What should I check for?
Old 02-10-2015, 03:37 PM
FormerVendor

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

Reverse takes more pressure than forward typically. So a pressure check can show problems.

Did you look at the direct clutches? Were they OK?

Might have cut a seal on that drum.
Old 02-10-2015, 03:46 PM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by Jake's Performance
Reverse takes more pressure than forward typically. So a pressure check can show problems.

Did you look at the direct clutches? Were they OK?

Might have cut a seal on that drum.