Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 Model ECU question

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2004, 12:53 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Model ECU question

I have a 2000 LS1 engine i bought with a A4, i swapped the A4 harness and tranny for a T56 and the computer for it was a 98 model. The tab on the 98 computer has a peice broke off of it and i was thinking about replacing it, so im wondering if the 98 computer has different PIN locations or plugs that go into the computer from any other year.
I really want to replace it with a computer from the same year as the motor, because i dont know if any of the sensors have different values over the 98 computer specs. I remember from somewhere that the 98 model MAF tables in the computer wont read as high frequences as the MAF tables in a 99 up computer. Somebody please help me with this, im new to tuning EFI and this is my first LS1 build.
Old 09-03-2004, 01:37 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by LS1S10
I have a 2000 LS1 engine i bought with a A4, i swapped the A4 harness and tranny for a T56 and the computer for it was a 98 model. The tab on the 98 computer has a peice broke off of it and i was thinking about replacing it, so im wondering if the 98 computer has different PIN locations or plugs that go into the computer from any other year.
I really want to replace it with a computer from the same year as the motor, because i dont know if any of the sensors have different values over the 98 computer specs. I remember from somewhere that the 98 model MAF tables in the computer wont read as high frequences as the MAF tables in a 99 up computer. Somebody please help me with this, im new to tuning EFI and this is my first LS1 build.
I believe they are the same, I have a 98 wiring harness(initally) with a 99 PCM and I just moved all the pins I was using to the proper locations for the 99 PCM, thanks GM for moving the pins around for each different year