Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cold Air FlowPac = Bad MPG ???

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2004, 10:19 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Cold Air FlowPac = Bad MPG ???

Cold-Air Package, 1998-99 V8 Camaro/Firebird "FloPac"

I installed this on my 1998 Trans Am Convertible this weekend. It sounds throatier and seems to run great. No funny smells in the exhaust, but my mpg is really horrible. The tank before, I got about 18mpg running mostly to and from work and around town. I put the Cold Air on this weekend, and have run almost a half a tank through but only put on about 75-80m, which is about 10-12mpg ...

I am pretty new to the trans am, having driven a toyota rav4 for the past 8 years. When I put the cold air on the rav4, I had to disconnect the battery to get the computer to "reprogram" itself. Is there a similar procedure on the LS1 engines?

Thanks in Advance for any help!
RobT
Old 09-15-2004, 10:24 AM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by robtest
Cold-Air Package, 1998-99 V8 Camaro/Firebird "FloPac"

I installed this on my 1998 Trans Am Convertible this weekend. It sounds throatier and seems to run great. No funny smells in the exhaust, but my mpg is really horrible. The tank before, I got about 18mpg running mostly to and from work and around town. I put the Cold Air on this weekend, and have run almost a half a tank through but only put on about 75-80m, which is about 10-12mpg ...

I am pretty new to the trans am, having driven a toyota rav4 for the past 8 years. When I put the cold air on the rav4, I had to disconnect the battery to get the computer to "reprogram" itself. Is there a similar procedure on the LS1 engines?

RobT
I am not sure, I do not have that package. Yet, you should give it a little more time to try and relearn itself. Put some more miles on it.

Doesn't sound right though.
Old 09-15-2004, 10:45 AM