Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Break-In / Pro n Con Oil Types

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2004, 03:55 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Break-In / Pro n Con Oil Types

I'd like to start out by saying I'm new to the board. I appreciate the fact that opinions will be varied on this topic (I just searched synthetic on the forum and read 250 threads that mention the word). I pre-empt this thread that while I am not an engineer, professional / hardcore racer / or employed as a mechanic, I have done alot of tinkering with cars, trucks, tractors, etc. With all I have read, seen, and heard I can't get definative answers to the following:

Are all motors in passenger cars run at the assembly plant or in the car / truck before they arrive in a dealership? Having been to a caterpillar tractor plant the motors are started (with natural gas!) & run for the amount of time it takes to start them & blip the throttle twice. They are then shut down and installed in the equipment... no break-in.

Does anyone know for how long? The company I work for is an OEM of large Refrigeration Compressors (5-160 tons) and from what I've seen in our testing it takes at least 45 minutes for a cast iron block to reach a uniform temperature.

If all motors are not broken in, how about high performance engines (LS1 / LS6)? Is the engine oil changed prior to sending the cars out to remove metal fragments?

Again, how long does these engines run for? I can't imagine that running for less than 4-5 hours would be of any value.