New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new ticking noise freaking me out...

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2004, 02:38 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new ticking noise freaking me out...

hey guys-
first off im fairly new to the ls1 scene. i already searched and didnt find anything like my situation. yesterday i noticed a ticking noise that started after i swapped out the stock tape deck with a cd player. the tick gets faster with the rpms and no performance has been lost. its a 1998 m6 z28. only mods are ram air hood and intake, cat back exhaust, b&m shifter and some suspension work. never missed a shift or hit the rev limiter. kinda freaking me out. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

robby
Old 10-20-2004, 06:33 PM
TECH Resident

Well...what exactly is ticking? Is it something from the engine? Suspension? Stereo?
Old 10-20-2004, 07:07 PM
Launching!

its the engine for sure... havent gotten a chance to listen around though.
Old 10-20-2004, 07:57 PM
TECH Regular

I had a ticking noise in my engine too. I knew it was one of my pushrods so I decided it was a good excuse for a cam. When I took out my pushrods one of the pushrods was BENT. I'm not talking about just a little. So maybe thats whats going on in your's. Good excuse to take everything out and get a cam.
Old 10-20-2004, 08:12 PM
TECH Apprentice

It's probably a bomb! Just joking! I have the same problem, although I think mine is a header leak. I am going to do a cam swap soon so I will be replacing the pushrods, I may have a bent one. That ticking noise is annoying and kind of embarassing. Keep us posted if you find out anything. Good luck.
Old 10-21-2004, 07:30 AM
On The Tree