Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Want opinions on my theory about intake pressure at WOT.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2004, 10:52 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want opinions on my theory about intake pressure at WOT.

I was reading up on kpa differences at different altitudes, and it seems that you lose 1% for every 100 meters above sea level, and that works out to be about 1 kpa. Would that mean that you would gain 1% more power (roughly) for every kpa you can free up in the intake by increasing it's efficiency to allow as close to sea level as possible in your manifold at WOT? And even more if you can raise intake pressures with ram air, etc?
Old 11-14-2004, 04:40 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

About 3 years ago I graduated from the pittsburgh institute of aeronautics,we had about a week of talking about this. I dug out some of my old books"faa aproved" ,hope this helps... Standard atmospheric conditions:59degF, barometric pressure:29.92 inches of mercury. See leval air pressure 14.69psi. Now for 1000 feet, you lose 1in of mecury and temp falls about 3.5degF. Another example 18,000 feet ubove see level is 7.34 psi of air pressure. Trying to answer your question I dont think freeing up air restriction Will give you more manifold air pressure. You are limited by your elevation and air temps. Supercharging is the only way to over come The dencity of air going in to a n/a engine. I Live in utah now and i sill keep my camaro in pittsburgh. I have driven the car out here once and i feel about a 50hp loss here in the higher elevation. Pitts ele 900ft Park city ele 6500ft.Watching the scaner on hptuner map pressure is less in utah than in pittsburgh. I hope this is what you were looking for.
Old 11-14-2004, 05:09 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by conan