Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Off the shelf cams vs. custom grind cams

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2004, 01:18 PM
9 Second Club NA

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Off the shelf cams vs. custom grind cams

A lot of people have great luck picking a cam off the shelf, putting it in their car, and obtaining incredible results on the dyno as well as the track. Then, there's those who skip off the shelf cams and go with custom grinds. I personally, have no clue as where to start building a cam for my application. I am no cam expert, so I would have absolutely no input on what specs to put on a cam for myself.

Now, cams that are mass produced are still custom cams in my opinion. They were still thought up, used, etc. and now are being sold. Just because a cam is mass produced, doesnt mean that its not custom. Obviously, they made that cam for a particular set up. A lot of sponsors, companies, etc. are making cams for stock headed cars. That seems to be a big focus in my opinion because I see more and more trying to maximize their set up, run extremely good times, all with stock heads and bottom end.

Well, the bolt-ons I cant see making that much of a difference between one brand and the other. For instance, let's say one guy has QTP headers, ASP pulley, TSP lid, etc. and another has Kooks headers, March pullley, a MTI lid, etc. What Im getting at is, that when companies make these cams for stock headed cars, they arent making them for those who use this type of header, or that brand of lid, or this type of tranny, etc.