Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tuning for MAF, try and go with me on this for a second

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2005, 07:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default tuning for MAF, try and go with me on this for a second

ok im gonna go out on a limb here and think about the MAF, these are mostly assumptions i am making so DO NOT LISTEN TO ME. im just asking the experts if this "assumption" is right and could help with tuning.

the next statement is not yelling but i just want people to understand i am no expert lol THIS MAY BE TOTALLY WRONG, I MIGHT SOUND LIKE I AM IN DRUG BUT I HAD A THOUGHT TODAY ABOUT IT AT WORK AND FIGURED I WOULD ASK. this may have been brought up before but i dont know, so i am bringing it up myself.

ok so we start off, the MAF sensor is just that, a mass airflow sensor. i measures the amount of air comming in. what is the measurement on MAF is it lb/min? or something like that?

ok from what i have learned in thermodynamics class is that the mass flow rate is equal to the density of air times the area times the velocity. right now the only variable in there that is not known is the velocity of the air. the area is constant, the density of air is also a known constant depending on altitude. this is most likely the factor that throws off each maf sensor, it all depends on where the calibration was done.

so if the density of air used could be determined for the scaling and the density of air in our own area was known, could we not scale the maf to more accuratly measure the air comming in?

ok well take out the area and the velocity for a second. the velocity times the area will give you the volume flow rate, the volume of air that would have to be flown could be determined based on cubic inches per a certain amount of time. there for we would know the desired volume flow rate for each rpm. from this, we could obtain an equation and find out what the desired table for our cars would be.