Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

milled heads too much geometry messed up

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2005, 10:06 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default milled heads too much geometry messed up

I milled my heads .050 which has turned out to be too much and I installed an aggressive cam. Ive had alot of problems with this current setup ie rockers backing out, excessively noisy valve train. And I recieved very little gains 30 rwhp.
heads: milled .050, 2" intake unshrouding, 5 angle job
cam: LPE gt2-5 222/222 .566/.566 I believe the lobes are comps xr

At first I had to short pushrods .735 so switched to .74 stock and alot less noise. I still feel something is off someone commented that my valves might not be closing all the way is there a way to check this? I have no experience with checking valve spring preload, could my preload be so far off that the valves arent closing?

Ive thought about shimming the rockers but dont know how much, but then adjustable or self adjusting rockers would be a better choice?

This is a 5.3 motor na in a truck. I know you guys arent particularly interested in truck engines but I thought Id check with the experts here.
Old 03-12-2005, 10:31 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by 02sierraz71_5.3
cam: LPE gt2-5 222/222 .566/.566 I believe the lobes are comps xr
At first I had to short pushrods .735 so switched to .74 stock and alot less noise. I still feel something is off someone commented that my valves might not be closing all the way is there a way to check this? I have no experience with checking valve spring preload, could my preload be so far off that the valves arent closing?
Ive thought about shimming the rockers but dont know how much, but then adjustable or self adjusting rockers would be a better choice?
Well it's actually lifter preload you are measuring, and you'd need to put a dial indicator on the backside of a rocker to measure it.