PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What scan tool/tuner to buy

Old 03-16-2005, 07:33 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What scan tool/tuner to buy

Got a newbie question for everyone. I would like to view only what is going on with my car. If I need anything done with a tune I will leave that to the professionals. I like what auto tap view but do not have a laptop or palm. Are there any hand held scan tools that I can view/delete codes, spark knock, coolant temp, O2 numbers etc... you get the picture. Is the scan master any good? I had one on a T Type I used to own some years ago and it seemed to do all of this. I am new to the LS1 and my background for the last 18 years is tuning my big block Chevelle, carb and distributor, the old fashioned way.

Thanks!
Old 03-16-2005, 07:42 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

the only hand helds that i know of that cna show info are predator and probably vinci...but for that your spending $400 anywayz. Not sure if scan master offers anything for obd2...maybe someone else can jump in on that one.
Old 03-16-2005, 09:12 AM
Launching!

Looked a little further into the Scanmaster and it looks like it does everything I am looking for. There will also be a data logging feature for it in the future. Has anyone run one or should I look into something else? My guess is simple and easy to use just like the one for the turbo Buick. I also found a place that sells them for $249.00 I would just like to get some opinions on it first before buying one.
Old 03-16-2005, 09:56 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Originally Posted by TOOSLO5