Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rocker Arms and TPIS Oval Throttle Body

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2005, 11:20 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rocker Arms and TPIS Oval Throttle Body

So i picked up a copy of chevy high performance today and was reading through it and found an article on some new rocker arms by crane cams. They are the Gold-Race extruded aluminum rocker arms and i was reading and they sound like a great investment, though i'm still learning, what exactly do the rocker arms do for the car and also are these as good as they sound? Part II, i saw an ad for the new TPIS oval throttle body and it also sounds like it would be a nice add-on for my car, what does everyone think of both of these products? Also, if a get a FM14 cam in the future, will i need new heads (looking into the AFR 205's)?
Old 04-27-2005, 02:49 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

All info is in site: TPIS TB needs a TPIS modified LS6 intake:
http://www.tpis.com/

And CRANE/VINCI rocker info is in there:
http://www.vincihighperformance.com/
And
http://www.cranecams.com/
Old 04-28-2005, 09:40 PM
10 Second Club

http://www.vincihighperformance.com/...20PAGE%20.HTML explaination of how the rockers work.

my dyno results of swapping from the stock rockers to the vinci/crane 1.8 accelerated lift rockers.

dyno 9 before
dyno 11 500 miles later
dyno 14 10 months later
Old 04-29-2005, 09:04 AM
On The Tree

Wow, really seems like it makes a noticeable difference. Did you feel the difference?
Old 04-29-2005, 05:46 PM
10 Second Club

yes i did from the moment i picked the car up and drove it. with autos, it's easier to notice the soggy low end torque the ls1 has until about 3000 rpms. at that point, you start to feel the 'pull' of the motor. what i noticed is that 'pulling' started at around 2500 rpms. here's the track results.

before 13.158 @ 106.86
after 13.054 @ 107.32
this goes right with the dyno 9 vs dyno 11.
Old 04-29-2005, 05:56 PM
Cal
TECH Veteran