Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Cheapie TIG welder - more Chinese junk!

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2005, 01:18 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Cheapie TIG welder - more Chinese junk!

Is the $200 TIG from Harbor Freight worth the money or is it a waste? According to Diamond Jim, it is a great bargan - (See his narrative below)

Does anyone else own one that they could comment about?

THANKS!

Thread from Diamond Jim:

I recently bought a new welder for Harbor Freight. I had been hearing about this TIG welder they had for a couple of months, and I checked it out with the guys on various welding forums/newsgroups. Their opinions were that it was about the best thing to come out of China since, General Tso's Chicken.

I have a Lincoln Buzz Box (220v AC stick welder) and a Lincoln Mig. I already have gas regulator, and gas bottles for use with the Mig, so I am set for the new Tig. Now here is the best part, This Tig comes with an ARC welding holder also. You can TIG weld to 130 AMPS or ARC (stick) weld to 90 AMPS. Now before anyone shakes their head and says only 90 AMPS, they need to know that this is 90 AMPS DC not AC. With DC you get a lot better penetration and better welds on steel etc.

Harbor Freight has them on sale for $199.00. (Make sure you print the page off from their Internet site to get the sale price at one of their stores). A Lincoln AC stick welder will run you at least $220 plus. One with DC will be a heck of a lot more than that. The advantages of the Lincoln AC welder is that you can weld all day with it as it is a production type welder. As for the Mig welders, Migs are also more for production of a lot of welds. You can do anything with this Tig that a non-professional welder needs to do.