Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AFR Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2005, 05:05 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question AFR Question

If I am running at about 14.0:1 and bring it to about 13.0:1 by adding fuel will I gain power? If any change, about how much?

Thanks and sorry for the novice question. I am just getting started tuning.
Old 06-15-2005, 09:18 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by BADSZ28
If I am running at about 14.0:1 and bring it to about 13.0:1 by adding fuel will I gain power? If any change, about how much?

Thanks and sorry for the novice question. I am just getting started tuning.
Ummm...if you're talking about cruise conditions, 14.7 is optimal. If you're talking about higher load conditions and WOT, you shouldn't be commanding much above 13.0. The leaner you run it, the stronger it will feel. BUT, it will significantly increase the potential for damage to your motor. The extra fuel added going from 14.7 (cruise) to 13.0 (WOT) helps keep the cylinder temps down and prevents the BOOOM you don't want to hear.
Old 06-15-2005, 09:57 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by SSpdDmon
Ummm...if you're talking about cruise conditions, 14.7 is optimal. If you're talking about higher load conditions and WOT, you shouldn't be commanding much above 13.0. The leaner you run it, the stronger it will feel. BUT, it will significantly increase the potential for damage to your motor. The extra fuel added going from 14.7 (cruise) to 13.0 (WOT) helps keep the cylinder temps down and prevents the BOOOM you don't want to hear.

I agree with that one...I'm running a 13.5 to a 13.09 commanded...this weekend I will have my wideband set up..if anyone wants to see my tune I have efi live..my car has no internals simply bolt ons in sig and dyno numbers are from a tune before my current one. (I have yet to dyno with my current tune) god i love the ls1 motor.....almost 400TQ and 374HP
Old 06-15-2005, 11:26 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post