Street Racing & Kill Stories Basic Technical Questions & Advice

Newbie-Tales: Stock SS v. unknown BMW

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 09:41 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie-Tales: Stock SS v. unknown BMW

Long post for no reason... I'm an excited newb and a freelance writer, so I get a little long-winded. Please skip to the bottom for a summary.

I was running errands in the SS today... it was a beautiful day, I had the top down and the music going. I turned on to De Anza (2 lanes in each direction with a tree-ed divider in the middle, 40mph limit) and got going. There were a few cars in front of me and a couple behind, the usual scattered pack you find in the middle of town on a weekday afternoon. Everyone was going slightly under the speed limit, so I casually weaved my way through.

Up near the front in the left lane, with a car ahead of me in each lane and one slightly behind in the other lane, I glanced in the rear-view and saw an older BMW squeezing through the cars the way I had just done, and watched as he pulled up behind me, just short of attaching himself to my bumper. I raised an eyebrow, but I wasn't dangerously close to the car in front of me, so I edged forward a little and kept doing my thing. He stayed right on me....

At this point the car in front of me in the right lane started signalling to turn right. Immediately, the BMW flipped on his right turn signal, with nowhere to go... the car that had been behind me to my right was still there, blocking him. I shrugged and followed suit, merged over when the lane cleared, and accelerated in 4th to get around the last car in front of me. 4th gear from 40-45 isn't exactly hair-raising, but it gave me pause when he stayed exactly six inches off my rear. I switched back over to the left lane when I could and stayed on it, still in 4th gear. I just wanted to see what he would do next.