Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

True dual guys w/ Flowmaster 1-chambers...How is your ground clearance?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2005, 06:24 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question True dual guys w/ Flowmaster 1-chambers...How is your ground clearance?

Alright, here's the deal:

I've been running the GMMG cat-back on my LS1's for four years now and just want something different...As good as the GMMG sounds for a cat-back system, the only exhaust set-up out there that even remotely makes the LS1 sound like a true "muscle car" is an X or H-pipe set-up w/ Flowmaster 1-chamber mufflers (10 series) dumped. What about other dual set-ups (bullets, twisters, sweet thunders, etc.) you might ask? They're OK, but still don't have the sound I'm looking for out of this motor (yes, I've already heard them)...Just can't beat that Flowmaster tone w/ true duals though.

So, for the guys that have STOCK ride height cars, do you have any ground clearance problems when out on the rodes? Since I plan on doing this, I will obviously never lower my car...And the car is not a daily-driver, so I'll only be taking it out a little here and there...

Let me know how this has been working out for you all (from experience).

Thanks,

Mike

Last edited by 2000LS1Z28; 07-15-2005 at 09:32 PM.
Old 07-15-2005, 03:11 PM
TECH Fanatic

my ground clearance is fine, I have 4.25" all the way around except at the muffler its 4". I could get 4.25" at the muffler, but it was almost touching the fuel lines, so I had them move it down 1/4" for clearance. Speed bumps arent a problem because the mufflers are centered between the wheels, so they clear going up and down the speed bump. hope this helps!
Old 07-15-2005, 03:13 PM
TECH Fanatic

BTW, this is with 3" TD's, you'll have great ground clearance if you go w/ 2.5" exhaust
Old 07-15-2005, 03:33 PM
TECH Apprentice