Southern Members A regional forum for all our down South members.

looking to buy in NC

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2005, 02:10 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking to buy in NC

newbie here, hope I'm not in the wrong forum.

Been several years since I got rid of my 85 camaro. Thinking about getting a 4th generation and know next to nothing about them.

What can I expect to find for 7,500 to 10,000? Or do I need to wait until I've got 12 or 15 saved up?

Anyone in NC specialize in this type car? Anyone I should avoid?

I've found a 94 6 cylinder, the best thing is I've known the owners and I know it's been taken care of. If I buy it, how much trouble/expense is it to convert to a LS1?

how much difference is there between the firebirds and camaros?

looking for something as a daily driver. decent gas mileage that I can modify in the future as money becomes available.

thanks in advance
Old 07-22-2005, 02:41 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts

Originally Posted by Tony 85
What can I expect to find for 7,500 to 10,000? Or do I need to wait until I've got 12 or 15 saved up?
You can find good 98-99 LS1s for 8-10k.

I've found a 94 6 cylinder, the best thing is I've known the owners and I know it's been taken care of. If I buy it, how much trouble/expense is it to convert to a LS1?
More trouble and expense than just buying an LS1.

Basically none, except for the look of the exterior.

looking for something as a daily driver. decent gas mileage that I can modify in the future as money becomes available.
Almost all LS1s get at least decent gas mileage. Some actually get quite good mileage.
Old 07-22-2005, 03:14 PM
Teching In

Thanks for the advice.

Couple more questions.

What are the differences btw LT1 & LS1? Parts availability & price? resale value?

Stay with the a close to stock LS1 or pay less up front for an LT1 & modify it from that point?
Old 07-24-2005, 12:47 AM
12 Second Club

newbie here, hope I'm not in the wrong forum.