Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do PaceSetter Headers compare to Jet Hots?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2005, 08:41 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do PaceSetter Headers compare to Jet Hots?

First, let me say that I'm a self-admitted newbie to the LS1 world. I try to use the Search button and the stickies at the top of every forum I come across, but I've yet to find a direct comparison between the two. That being said, I'm starting this thread. Please share your honest opinions.

I'm going to be running headers into a TSP True Dual setup. I'm trying to choose between Pacesetter or Jet Hots.

I have a friend running Kooks and of course he suggests them. Unfortunately, I'm not able to afford a new set, and I havent found a deal on a used set.

I have a friend running Jet Hots, and he'd sing their praises from the roof tops. I've never seen his headers in person before, but from what I've read, they're the improved version of Hooker headers. The o2 sensor ports are relocated to the inside of the collector so o2 extensions are not needed. The Jet Hots are coated inside and out.

I have another friend running the coated Pacesetters. They're about ~$100 cheaper than the Jet Hots and when I saw a set in person, there were two things I didn't like: The 4 tubes are not equal lengths (the Jet Hots are), and the weld inside the primaries (near the flange) is very visible and seems to lessen the inside diameter by ~1/8th of an inch, which may or may not be enough to make a difference. The Pacesetters are coated on the outside, but I'm not sure about the inside. The the best of my research, o2 extensions will be needed.

Both of the headers have 1 3/4" primaries and 3” collector sizes.

I'm tempted to spend the extra ~$100 on the Jet Hots, but I'd like to hear a few opinions first.
Old 08-10-2005, 08:49 AM
TECH Fanatic