Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam Install problems, please help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2005, 08:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Unhappy Cam Install problems, please help.

High, I am new to this sight. I'm having some major cam install problems. Without trying to write a book, I've been doing my cam install since July 29,2005. I have installed the new cam using the LS1 How to instructions, these are a nice guideline, but have found that a manuel also filled in some of the gaps the intructions missed. I've been trying to Install Lunati cam 221/221 558/558 114LSA, was able to get this cam back in after a slight lifter drop, that I was able to save with a pen magnet. Lined up the cam gear and crank dot at 12Midnight and 6 straight up and down(perfect I thought) turned the motor over manuely six times felt no real tension, instructions said you may feel some due to the fact your building compression, reassembled car, pulled white plugs off each side of the injectors fired the car up for four seconds she cranked with no god awful noises, so I thought okay good to go, put white plugs back in to injectors fired car up, it ran for about 10 seconds, was shaking really bad(thought that was normal, instructions said you would see smoke and hear loud valve train noise)car died, intructions said this could happen, so attempted to fire car up again and use 10percent throttle, car would crank but would not fire up, had some loud popping and then I killed the battery. Charged battery back up, came out next day,car would crank, and made a very loud popping noise and would not catch. Well after many a questions to speed shops, local mechanics, and research on my own I figured something must be out of timing. So yesterday August 13, I decided to tear the car back down again and find out what the problem was, well first off the timing looked fine, crank gear and cam gear were at 12 and six, only one problem th