Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How hard is it....

Old 09-07-2005, 11:00 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default How hard is it....

on a stock LS1 motor when running nitrous? I mean, wear on the motor. Im lookin into a NX dry kit w/75 shot. Im still learning about the internals on these motors so I need some advise from people with hands on experience. So I guess what Im really wanting to know is how much does running nitrous effect the life of the motor? Even with it properly tuned. I never plan on spraying bigger than a 75 shot because in the way later future I plan on a procharger kit & keeping the juice for the little extra if its needed.

Anyways, any info is very appreciated.

P.S. - Nitrous will only be used at the track. Should cut down on whatever wear I might see. I will only be makin it to the track maybe 2 times a month.
Old 09-07-2005, 11:18 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK. At only a 75 shot, proper tuning is not really needed. Just to check A/F ratio. You should be fine for a very long time. Normal wear.
As far as NX, they only do wet kits, not dry. If I was only spraying a 75 shot I would stay dry. Dry is easier to install, works fine and the A/F ratio should be fine as it is controlled by the ECU.
Anything larger then the 75 shot and more options/set-ups would apply.
Old 09-07-2005, 11:42 AM
12 Second Club

I was told by Nitro Dave the NX offered a dry kit like I am needing. Was he wrong or did I misunderstand him?
Old 09-07-2005, 11:45 AM
Closed ex-Sponsor Account

Originally Posted by BIG_MIKE2005