Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pull Timing At What CR

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2005, 04:53 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Pull Timing At What CR

I'm just beginning to explore the world of aftermarket heads, so please forgive my naivety. I've been trying to find out at what CR you have to start pulling timing? Specifically, the 10.5 CR LS6 heads. Can you run 28 or 29 degrees of timing at that CR?

Last edited by Predator; 12-23-2005 at 10:02 AM.
Old 12-23-2005, 06:55 AM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I don't think you'll know till it's on the dyno and you see what the car likes.
Old 12-23-2005, 07:00 AM
TECH Addict

Thanks Viper, I see, there's no general rule-of-thumb that cars with CRs of 11:1, for example, or 11.5:1, or whatever usually need to have timing pulled? I was thinking that 10.5 is pretty close to stock and you could run with full timing. The truth is that I want to get a set of LS6 heads but I don't want to mess with my timing curve.
Old 12-23-2005, 07:05 AM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Depends on what gas is available to you as well. I'm running 11:1 on 93 octane with zero KR. Full timing.
Old 12-23-2005, 07:14 AM
TECH Addict

93 Octane. If you're running full timing with 11:1 and 93 octane, I think you just answered my question: full timing is feasible with 10.5:1. Great news to me, and I appreciate your help!
Old 12-23-2005, 07:18 AM
TECH Addict

BTW Viper, your avatar has your car flying around cones, and my car is parked (lost) in the woods, like me. LOL
Old 12-23-2005, 08:35 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can run 27-28 degrees of advance at 11 to 1 compression... I am and several here on the forum are doing it with even higher static compression. Don't worry so much about static and concentrate on your DCR. Many threads here on the subject, basically shoot for a DCR of 8.4 - 8.5 on 93 octane gas...