Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

Carb issues way too rich, then way too lean

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 12:25 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Carb issues way too rich, then way too lean

i've dynoed the car numerous times, and in different gears, trying to narrow the problem down.

basically when i 1st get on it, it is rich 10.5-11.5:1 and around 4500-5000rpm it leans out and keeps leaning (16:1+!!!) it does this in every gear...the mechanical pump is keeping pressure though, entire pull it sits at 6-7psi.

i will note this is my 1st carb setup, it is a holley 780 with vacuum secondaries...they are opening up fully also. but i am very new to all of this and dont have any experience.

my best idea is that the cam is too agressive causing the richness when i get on it, and the secondary jets are too small. but i am open to all suggestions, this is just my theory as of now.
Old 12-27-2005, 09:16 PM
On The Tree

What size engine? How many RPM's to redline? What Cam do you have? How much vacuum are you pulling? Your power valve might be too big. And/or your primary jets are too big and secondaries are too small. I have a Holley 950 HP with mechanical secondaries. My cam is 254*/257* duration at .050 with .712 lift in a 383 spinning 8000 Rpm's. It has the factory jets and #52 high speed air bleeds and #74 idle air bleeds. I maintain about a .45 BSFC from 4000 to 8000 (didn't record below 4000 on the dyno).
Old 12-31-2005, 09:08 PM
TECH Regular