Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

New ring and pinion installed: are thise contact patterns ok?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2006, 01:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default New ring and pinion installed: are thise contact patterns ok?

This is a 3.42 Yukon ring and pinion set.
It's a thick ring for a series 2 carrier (10 bolts).
I ended up with this drive contact pattern: does it look OK?
So far I hear no new noises, but our roads are wet in this period and I have snow tires so it's hard to say.
How can I find out if I screw up? Noise? Temperature increase?
Other pics here http://www.cardomain.com/ride/460473/20
The last two pics are how I left it.

Thank you!

Stefano
Attached Thumbnails New ring and pinion installed: are thise contact patterns ok?-007-stock-shim-0.004-drive.jpg  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:21 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im no expert, but it looks good since the pinion looks to be contacting in the center of the teeth.
Old 01-01-2006, 02:12 PM
Banned

Looks pretty good it is better to have more contact toward the root than the heel, and you are slightly toward the root which is good. The pattern looks good so as long as your backlash is good I think you are golden
Old 01-01-2006, 05:08 PM
Banned

Pinion shim is too thick, drive looks deep and your coast is close, what is your backlash set to?
Old 01-01-2006, 06:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Backslash is 0.25 mm or 0.010 inches.
There was a "BS 0.008" on the ring and I was told from the seller to set it 0.008 - 0.010.

Here a picture of the pattern with the original shim (0.032 in).
I then added a 0.004 in shim what caused the pattern I posted at the beginning of this thread.

Under the car it was looking better with the additional shim, but now when I look at the pictures I don't know...

Assuming the pinion shim is too thick what will happen? A noisy rear? Or will it brake soon?