New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My STL SS is slow!?? Help me make it faster!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2006, 02:17 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My STL SS is slow!?? Help me make it faster!!!

I'm a newbie to the site although I like some of the information that I have briefly skimmed through.
I have a 01 Camaro SS with 16600 on the clock and a basic lid mod done otherwise all stock. I live in St. Louis, MO. The first time I took it to the track, my best results are as follows:

Weight in lbs: 3560 (stereo equip is heavy lol)
60 Foot: 2.198
1/8 Mile ET:9.398
1/8 Mile MPH: 78.85
1/4 Mile ET: 14.276
1/4 Mile MPH: 100.77
At Montgomery Motorsports Park on a summer night

I was pretty disappointed with my times as I lost to my buddies STI... of course I smoked the **** out of my tires and I wonder if their to blame? (I have Potenza's). Needless to say I want to get to low 13's and maybe inside of the 12's... where this car should be. I know there's no quick fix but what would you recommend? (beside taking out my stereo system... that's here to stay lol). Any recommendations or suggestions would be valued... specifically any places to have a true dual cat back system put on as a starting point as I am a rookie and don't want to fork it up! And yes this is my first true muscle car... nothing else counts!
Attached Images
File Type: bmp
SS_side.bmp (71.2 KB, 152 views)
Old 01-07-2006, 02:35 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

dont be dissapointed there are many reasons this could be

change your spark plugs.

answer these questions so we can help you better. . .
-how are you launching?
-what rpm do you let you clutch out at, how much were you spinning off of the line?
-what rpm are you shifting at?