Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to M6 drag racing...I think I suck

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2006, 09:37 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy New to M6 drag racing...I think I suck

Well like the title says I am new to the manual transmission and have only been driving my car now for about 5 months.

So i got a G-tech...I know take it to the track to get real results etc...but I have no track anywhere near me and I just thought it would be fun to have one to use on our 70 chevelle, 69 camaro, and my T/A.

Anyways I am starting to think I must really suck at driving, or my car has problems...so here is my scenario and you tell me.

I have done about 10 passes total, my average has been about 14.6@104mph. Now during those times I had winter tires on..lol which are an inch diameter larger overall than stock so maybe they are heaver to turn or something, and I was just trying out my new g-tech toy. I SUCK at launching so i know that is affecting my times greatly and my shiftting is not that fast but is getting faster every day I drive.

My question is, can improving my launch, shifting technique, and not having the snow tires drop my 1/4 mile time a full second?? I assume my car should be capable of running low 13s with my mods and just want to know if the reason my times are so bad are the reasons I listed above.

Sorry for the long post, I am just new at this and don't wanna be one of those guys that makes the f-body crowd look bad on the street because im turning a 13 second car into a high 14 second car. I want to really improve my technique and make our f-body crowd look good when im driving and I just want to make sure it is me and not my car that is causing my poor times.

Please don't flame me too bad
Thankyou!!!
Old 01-15-2006, 10:18 PM
11 Second Club