Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Proof of flowmaster being bad???

Old 01-30-2006, 10:18 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Proof of flowmaster being bad???

ok now, i have a flowmaster catback on my 2001 trans am i bought the car with the exhaust in it already. but i keep hearing everywhere how bad it is. i dont understand why that is i always knew flowmaster to make great exhausts in the muscle car department, but everyone says it sucks for our ls1's. now what i wanna know has anyone did any kind of flow test on the exhaust to prove that it is bad flowing or flows less than others. and not comparable to the other aftermarket exhausts, i know loudmouth/gmmg will be better sense it is a straight through muffler but please someone show me proof so i can put my mind at ease lol. the exhaust sounds so good on the car and id hate to change it out in the future for no reason just because a bunch of people had a thing against it but it was false to much money to be wasting if its not true. so anyway lemme see some proof please
Old 01-30-2006, 10:35 AM
TECH Fanatic

read this thread of my dyno...

https://ls1tech.com/forums/dynamometer-results-comparisons/427836-dyno-numbers-speed-inc-2001-z28.html

My dyno would have been higher minus the dirty air filter, but it was 10rwhp lower with the cutout closed.

Also notice the other post further down where a dude was losing huge power because of his flowmaster compared to when his cutout was open!

Even since I installed LTs and an ory, i have kept my cutout open (which is too loud for city driving). I have kept the cutout open because you can hear the restriction the flowmaster is causing now that my LS1 engine can breathe more.