Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

1967 firebird 3speed manual clutch noise

Old 03-02-2006, 12:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1967 firebird 3speed manual clutch noise

Hey, I'm new to LS1 and new to the car crowd. I just bought a 1967 Firebird, it was originally a 326, it now has a 350 pontiac with a 3 speed manual trans. a few problems, I hope someone can point me in the right direction.
First, when the clutch it not engaged, I hear a jingling sound coming from the clutch, when I engage the clutch (push it down) the jingling slows down to a whine, then stops after a few seconds. When I let the clutch pedal up again, the sound resumes.
and second, the brakes are drums, everyone tells me I need to switch to disks, I have a buddy who put baers on his 2002 camaro SS, he said I can have his stock brakes from that job. (only like 6000 miles on them), can that be done? 2002 disks on a 1967 f-body?
thanks
Old 03-02-2006, 07:27 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like your throw out bearing is giving it up.
Old 03-03-2006, 07:26 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The jingling could just be a roll-over noise of the trans.Your explanation points to a trans noise because it spins down with the clutch dis- engaged( pushing in in dis-connects the clutch). I wouldn't get too excited about it untill it gets to sqeeking.In that case it would most likely need a throw-out bearing change.
Don't know about the brakes. BTW I have a '68 400 vert and the only thing I dislike about the car is the 4 wheel drum brakes.Also, mine has a 400 auto his/hers dual gate shifter.
Old 03-03-2006, 09:22 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Front disc would be a pretty straightforward conversion, I'd think. Just get the parts from a donor car. You'd likely need the spindles, the brake components, and the proportioning valve.