Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

People using Zaino with Porter Cable...step in please

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2006, 09:30 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default People using Zaino with Porter Cable...step in please

I've been using Zaino products for about two years now. My usuall process for my '69 Z28 is as follows:

1. Clay the car using Z18
2. Then apply Z5 after Z1
3. Next apply Z2 after Z1
4. Finally finish with Z6 (or Z8 before a show)

So far I have been more than happy with the Zaino products. I just got back from an indoor carshow where my '69 Z28 was parked next to a freshly painted '68 SS and it made me realize that my paint has really gone downhill despite all the work I put into detailling it. But I now i'm going to take it to the next level and purchase a Porter Cable 7424. I'm probably going to purchase a kit that comes with the buffer, flexible backing plate, and Lake Country Orange, White and Grey pads. Now as for the polishes, I've heard some very good things about the Klasse All-in-One and will more than likely try it out (I will also try Z-PC). And for the sealants, I will keep using a combination of Z5 and Z2.

Here is my new process:

1. Clay the car using Z18
2. Apply Klasse AIO (or Z-PC) using orange pad
3. Next apply Z5 using white pad *
4. Then apply Z2 using white pad
5. Burn in the the sealants using grey pad **
5. Finish up with Z6 or Z8

*Should I even use the Z5? I've been using it just because I have some left over.
**Is this necessary? Or should I just finish by hand using a MF?

I've also heard of some people using 50/50 water and alcohol. Why? Do I need to?

Please, critique my process or make some suggestions!

Thanks in advance!

PS: The car has been done for about 4 years now and has only been washed once since it was painted (it is rarely, rarely driven ). Would a good ol' fashion washing do it any goog?
Old 03-10-2006, 05:37 PM
On The Tree

bump
Old 03-11-2006, 12:35 AM
TECH Junkie