Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

magnaflow vs. flowmaster

Old 04-27-2006, 08:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default magnaflow vs. flowmaster

as far as cat-backs go i've heard great things about magnaflow, but i've heard a lot of ppl complain about the flowmaster exhaust note on ls1's. magnaflow is fairly quiet when idling or cruising,, but sounds sick at WOT, so I was wondering if the flowmaster idle/cruise sound is louder than the magnaflow's? just curious because i've found a lot better deals on flowmaster exhaust than magnaflow,, and i'm a poor college student

thanks for your help
Old 04-27-2006, 08:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

well, flowmaster is poor flow when compared to the magnaflow, also flowmaster is not stainless like the magnaflow, so spend the cash now and get something worth buying. If you don't your spend more later cause you have to buy twice
Old 04-27-2006, 08:40 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by daryl2cb@yahoo.com
well, flowmaster is poor flow when compared to the magnaflow, also flowmaster is not stainless like the magnaflow, so spend the cash now and get something worth buying. If you don't your spend more later cause you have to buy twice
so the performance of flowmaster is hindered compared to magnaflow too? thanks.
Old 04-27-2006, 09:48 PM
10 Second Club

Flowmaster is one of the worst flowing catbacks for these cars. I had a LT's, ORY, and a Magnaflow on my Z28 with a TSP 231/231 .598/.598 112 cam and it sounded awesome, even at idle. My SS has Lane's true duals and I think the Magnaflow has a louder, deeper tone. My Magnaflow is for sale if you're interested.
Old 04-27-2006, 09:54 PM
On The Tree

id really love to see some #s on the flowmasters , i just have a hard time believing that a company as respectable as flowmaster has such a poor flowing catback . sound is an opinion .
Old 04-27-2006, 09:59 PM
TECH Junkie